Jpg shooting with filters

Just curious if anyone else shoots jpg, particularly with any filters. For a while I shot raw only, but I’m not interested in doing a lot of post processing - just don’t take the time. The only thing I’ll do is run it through topaz, which is just a click and go.

I shoot with an em1m3 which does very well. Because I have a huge card I shoot jpg+raw, so it’s there just in case, but generally only look at the jpg.

I like the pop art 1 which enhances colors nicely, sometimes a b&w. Diorama is good for fun.

Anyone else shoot this way?

1 Like

Using jpgs just short-changes your ability to fix things, especially over and under exposure.

I shoot in both jpg and raw in case I need to share a jpg image quickly. Otherwise, it’s raw for me and I’m grateful that I started learning Photoshop about 25 years ago when my brain was better at learning things!

I do use the Topaz plug-ins a lot, especially the Topaz Adjust hdr filtration which is great for bringing out detail.

2 Likes

I sometimes shoot my Panasonics in monochrome mode (JPG only) and the results are pretty nice.

I shoot jpg+raw and use the art filters as well as the scene modes. Pop art works quite nicely for birds and dramatic tone for historic buildings. I still haven’t used all the scene modes, but I regularly use these two: e-Portrait does a good job of removing skin blemishes and wrinkles. Handheld starlight does better computational night shots than my smartphone.

1 Like

I get all the adv/dis comparisons. I was just curious if others did this as well. I personally don’t take the time to post process much at all. That’s just my preference.

1 Like

It’s thought that jpegs are for amateurs and raw for professionals. I think the opposite. I shoot raw because it gives me more latitude to correct my inevitable errors. If I could shoot great shots straight out of the camera, I’d shoot jpeg every time and I know some do.